Home › News

Maryland Lottery interim director named

Dec 9, 2009, 4:09 pm

Post a commentText Size

Maryland Lottery

Maryland Gov. Martin O'Malley's office has named Gina Smith as the Maryland State Lottery's Interim Director after the departure of Director Buddy Roogow on November 30th.

Roogow, who served as Maryland Lottery Director for 13 years, announced his resignation in early November after accepting the position of Director of the Washington, D.C. Lottery.

Ms. Smith, who has 20 years of State service, has been with the Maryland Lottery for nine years as its Chief Financial Officer.  Prior to her Lottery tenure, Ms. Smith worked for the Office of Legislative Audits.

Ms. Smith holds a B.S. in accounting from The University of Baltimore and has been a Certified Public Accountant for 15 years.

"Gina's knowledge and experience with the Lottery will prove invaluable," said Lottery Commission Chair, Kirby Fowler.  "I am confident that she will do a great job.  She has the unanimous support of the Lottery Commission."

"The Lottery experienced 12 record-breaking years of sales under Buddy's direction," said Ms. Smith.  "His shoes are going to be very difficult to fill, but I'm looking forward to the challenge."

The Governor's Office is currently holding a national search for a permanent Lottery Director.

Welcome Guest

Your last visit: Wed, Nov 25, 2020, 2:13 am

Log In

Log InCancel

Forgot your username?

Forgot your password?